Parliament Website

Widowed Parents' Allowance

EDM number 959 in 2016-17, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 21/02/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Bereavement benefits.

That this House is deeply concerned about the changes to Widowed Parents' Allowance, renamed Bereavement Support from April 2017; understands that the Childhood Bereavement Network has shown that 75 per cent of bereaved families will be worse off in cash terms under these changes, with the average widowed parent losing out on up to £12,000 and payments will be limited to 18 months; is concerned that this support will no longer rise with inflation meaning that its value will gradually diminish as the cost of living rises; is alarmed that this support will not be available to those who are co-habiting, even though one in five couples with children are not married according to the Office for National Statistics; is aware that the new Bereavement Support payment regime will disproportionately affect women, given that working-age women are more likely to claim bereavement allowance with 70 per cent of claimants in 2014 being female; appreciates that bereavement is one of the main causes of financial difficulty according to research; and is further deeply concerned that these cuts will put families under unnecessary pressure, increasing their stress at a time when they need to prioritise their grieving children.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Patricia Gibson21/02/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Margaret Ferrier21/02/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Lisa Cameron21/02/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry21/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Owen Thompson21/02/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows21/02/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally22/02/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/02/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Law22/02/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan22/02/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon22/02/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie22/02/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Weir22/02/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss23/02/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham23/02/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds23/02/2017Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Chris Stephens23/02/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry23/02/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan24/02/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond24/02/2017Signed
Brendan O'Hara24/02/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard24/02/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil24/02/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins27/02/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan28/02/2017East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady28/02/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan01/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Flynn01/03/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
John Nicolson01/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson01/03/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts01/03/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff02/03/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Deidre Brock06/03/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown06/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson06/03/2017Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas07/03/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jonathan Edwards13/03/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Lucas13/03/2017WrexhamLabourSigned
David Winnick22/03/2017Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas29/03/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Tom Brake18/04/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop18/04/2017Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland18/04/2017Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Wes Streeting26/04/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.