Parliament Website

Parliamentary Scrutiny Of Trade Deals

EDM number 128 in 2017-18, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 04/07/2017.

That this House is concerned about the lack of parliamentary scrutiny and accountability of trade deals to which the UK is a party; and calls on the Government to ensure the right of Parliament to set a thorough mandate to govern each trade negotiation, with a remit for the devolved administrations, the right of the public to be consulted as part of setting that mandate, a presumption of full transparency in negotiations, the right of Parliament to amend and to reject trade deals, with full debates and scrutiny guaranteed and a remit for the devolved administrations, and the right Of Parliament to review trade deals and withdraw from them in a timely manner.

This motion has been signed by a total of 5 MPs.

Caroline Lucas04/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Helen Goodman04/07/2017Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Tom Brake04/07/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jonathan Edwards04/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Roger Godsiff04/07/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.