Parliament Website

Universal Credit Split Payments

EDM number 1033 in 2017-19, proposed by Philippa Whitford on 07/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits administration, Children and families, Crimes of violence and Working age benefits.

That this House notes that the charities Women's Aid, Child Poverty Action Group, Surviving Economic Abuse and the Women's Budget Group have expressed concern regarding paying the combined universal credit payment of a couple into a single bank account; believes that paying recipient couples one joint payment, rather than individually, puts domestic abuse victims at increased risk of financial coercion and may prevent their leaving an abusive relationship; further notes that the current guidance stipulates that split payments are only available in very exceptional circumstances despite domestic abuse being a common occurrence, with 100 calls to police relating to domestic abuse every hour, and calls for universal credit payments to be split between adults in households by default as research by Women's Aid demonstrates that almost 85 per cent of women in abusive relationships feel that requesting a split payment would trigger even greater abuse; has considered evidence that payments for children that are paid to the main carer have a greater likelihood of being spent on the children; and calls on the Government to make split payments the default.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

Philippa Whitford07/03/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartyProposed
Neil Gray07/03/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock07/03/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss07/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford07/03/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Jess Phillips07/03/2018Birmingham, YardleyLabourSeconded
Gavin Newlands07/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen McCabe07/03/2018Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Chris Stephens07/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Angela Smith07/03/2018Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald07/03/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan07/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil07/03/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell07/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins07/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie07/03/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman07/03/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Amess07/03/2018Southend WestConservativeSigned
Patrick Grady07/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown07/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart07/03/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/03/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day07/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
David Linden07/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard07/03/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara07/03/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon08/03/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards08/03/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Cunningham08/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan08/03/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley12/03/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Law12/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon12/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Ben Lake13/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Hendrick13/03/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Mike Hill13/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer14/03/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Edward Davey14/03/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Liz Saville Roberts14/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Douglas Chapman15/03/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George15/03/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Kate Green15/03/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Alex Sobel15/03/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Roger Godsiff15/03/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John McNally15/03/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Smeeth15/03/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Richard Burden15/03/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald15/03/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris15/03/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Mhairi Black16/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz16/03/2018Leicester EastLabourSigned
Harriet Harman16/03/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Stephen Timms16/03/2018East HamLabourSigned
Frank Field16/03/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron16/03/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper19/03/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Martin Docherty19/03/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty19/03/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Drew Hendry20/03/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas20/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Norman Lamb21/03/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Geoffrey Robinson21/03/2018Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Conor McGinn27/03/2018St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn30/04/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Hywel Williams21/05/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Tim Farron21/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.