Parliament Website

Access To Healthcare For WASPI Women Living In The EU

EDM number 1063 in 2017-19, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 13/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Equality, Europe, Health services and Pensions.

That this House notes with concern that British women who are affected by the WASPI changes to state pension age for women, and who choose to retire in other EU countries, may not be eligible for healthcare in that country; notes that these women are UK citizens who paid UK taxes for many decades; observes with concern that many women were not notified of the change to state pension age until they had already made the move to another country; observes that life for these women is even more difficult than for their counterparts in the UK, because they will not receive bus passes or pension credit, and may also be ineligible for healthcare in their chosen country because they are not in receipt of a passporting benefit such as state pension; calls on the Government to take seriously the concerns of WASPI women who moved to the EU on the understanding that they would receive their pension at the age of 60, and who now may have no entitlement to public healthcare in the EU; observes that this situation is causing significant financial stress and anxiety for these women; and calls on the Government to assess this situation and look into ways to ensure that WASPI women in Europe can access healthcare, such as providing them with their S1 form at the age of 60 even if they do not receive their pension until a later age.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Roger Godsiff13/03/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley13/03/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon14/03/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Ronnie Campbell14/03/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins14/03/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts14/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Cunningham14/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon15/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Edward Davey16/03/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Stephens19/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson20/03/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden20/03/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Matt Western20/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas20/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Marie Rimmer21/03/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle22/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Flynn22/03/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Brown22/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan27/03/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black29/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Alex Sobel16/04/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Anna McMorrin16/04/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman23/04/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry23/04/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Geoffrey Robinson01/05/2018Coventry North WestLabourSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Kate Hoey07/06/2018VauxhallLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.