Parliament Website

Children's Mental Health

EDM number 1073 in 2017-19, proposed by Wera Hobhouse on 14/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Health finance, Mental health and Schools.

That this House notes the figures released by the Local Government Association as part of its Bright Futures campaign, where it is estimated that between 70 and 75 per cent of young people experiencing a mental health problem are unable to access any treatment due to lack of funding, despite at least one in 10 children and young people being affected by mental health problems; acknowledges the preventative role that early interventions such as in-school counselling can play in reducing waiting times for treatment, reducing patient distress and reducing pressures on mental health service providers; and urges the Government to use 5.3 per cent of the funding already promised to improve children's and young people's mental health service provision to deliver counselling in every secondary school, and equivalent alternative education provision, in England.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Wera Hobhouse14/03/2018BathLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew Lewer14/03/2018Northampton SouthConservativeSeconded
Vernon Coaker14/03/2018GedlingLabourSeconded
Caroline Lucas14/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Catherine West15/03/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Jess Phillips15/03/2018Birmingham, YardleyLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon15/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Edward Davey16/03/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon19/03/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens19/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Hendrick19/03/2018PrestonLabourSigned
David Simpson20/03/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Tim Farron20/03/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Matt Western20/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham20/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd20/03/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake20/03/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hill20/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Layla Moran21/03/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Lamb21/03/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/03/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer21/03/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jamie Stone21/03/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle22/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Thelma Walker22/03/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Jo Swinson26/03/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Burden27/03/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Ruth George27/03/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Christine Jardine29/03/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper16/04/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Alex Sobel16/04/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Emma Hardy16/04/2018Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Louise Ellman17/04/2018Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Paul Girvan18/04/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Sandy Martin18/04/2018IpswichLabourSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Grogan30/10/2018Signed

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.