Parliament Website

Reduced Access For Disabled Passengers On Northern Rail

EDM number 109 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 03/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Equality and Railways.

That this House notes that 331 of Northern Rail's 527 stations are unstaffed; is concerned that the Government and Northern Rail's proposals to remove the guarantee of a guard on every Northern Rail train will mean many people with disabilities will not be able to turn up and go and travel if there is no guarantee of a second member of staff to assist them on and off the train; understands that where Driver-Only Operation on Southern Rail has recently been introduced there have been a number of instances of wheelchair users being stranded at stations; believes that by removing train guards Northern Rail will be in breach of Rail Vehicle Access Regulations that require every train to have a ramp and staff to operate the ramp for passengers who require assistance; and calls on the Government, Rail North and Northern Rail to protect disabled passengers’ access to Northern Rail services by retaining the guarantee of a guard on every train.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Ian Mearns03/07/2017GatesheadLabourProposed
Grahame Morris03/07/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Chris Matheson03/07/2017City of ChesterLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell03/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Dan Carden03/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Laura Pidcock03/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon03/07/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Paul Flynn03/07/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Kate Hoey03/07/2017VauxhallLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth03/07/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jo Stevens03/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Jim Shannon04/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hill04/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham04/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner04/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Chris Stephens05/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George05/07/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Clive Lewis13/07/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Helen Goodman18/07/2017Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy05/09/2017WiganLabourSigned
Liz Twist14/09/2017BlaydonLabourSigned
John Woodcock09/10/2017Barrow and FurnessLabourSigned
Hilary Benn09/10/2017Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Anna Turley09/10/2017RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSigned
John Grogan23/10/2017Signed
Tim Farron26/10/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Laura Smith30/10/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell13/11/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney27/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Chris Williamson25/01/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.