Parliament Website

Portrayal Of ADHD And Its Treatment

EDM number 1112 in 2017-19, proposed by Martin Whitfield on 22/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Broadcasting, Health services and Mental health.

That this House notes the documentary, Take Your Pills, which has been distributed by Netflix; expresses its strong concern about what it sees as the programme's unbalanced portrayal of ADHD and its treatment; further notes the recent publication of updated NICE guidelines on the diagnosis and treatment of the condition and Royal College of Psychiatrists in Scotland's, ADHD in adults: good practice guidelines; and notes the views that there is a need for a more informed understanding of the condition across the country and that taking prescribed medication to treat diagnosed neuro-developmental disorders and mental health conditions is as legitimate as taking prescribed medication to treat physical illness.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Martin Whitfield22/03/2018East LothianLabourProposed
Ian Murray22/03/2018Edinburgh SouthLabourSeconded
Rosie Duffield22/03/2018CanterburyLabourSeconded
Alex Sobel22/03/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Sandy Martin22/03/2018IpswichLabourSeconded
Martin Docherty26/03/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Matt Western26/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon26/03/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Christine Jardine26/03/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugh Gaffney26/03/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Stephen Kerr26/03/2018StirlingConservativeSigned
Martyn Day26/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens26/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George27/03/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer27/03/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
David Simpson27/03/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Ian Mearns27/03/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Thelma Walker28/03/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell28/03/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hill28/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
David Linden28/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss28/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan28/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Platt29/03/2018LeighLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Mary Glindon29/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Anna McMorrin29/03/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Liz Twist29/03/2018BlaydonLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald16/04/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jared O'Mara16/04/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
John McNally16/04/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Girvan18/04/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/04/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.