Parliament Website

Commonwealth Heads Of Government Meeting 2018 - Freedom Of Worship

EDM number 1141 in 2017-19, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 28/03/2018.

That this House is aware that the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) 2018 will take place in London from 16 to 20 April 2018; appreciates that the Commonwealth is a diverse community and that CHOGM 2018 is an important opportunity to promote democracy and peace; understands that religion plays a huge part in life across all Commonwealth countries with incredibly diverse religions and belief systems practiced throughout member states; urges the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs to ensure that freedom to practice the religion or belief of one's choice is firmly on the agenda at this CHOGM; is alarmed that freedom of religion is facing increased restrictions around the globe and therefore Commonwealth countries affirming the importance of this fundamental right, highlighting good practice across its member states, would be hugely important; and stresses that CHOGM 2018 provides opportunities for robust dialogue with those member states which fall short in protecting freedom of religion which should not be missed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 3 MPs.

Patricia Gibson28/03/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Gavin Newlands28/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry28/03/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.