Parliament Website

Child Abuse In Child Migration Programmes

EDM number 1144 in 2017-19, proposed by Lisa Nandy on 28/03/2018.

That this House welcomes the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse's Child Migration Programmes Report, published in March 2018; notes the report's finding that the policy of child migration practiced by successive post-War governments, churches and charities resulted in many children suffering severe physical, sexual and emotional abuse; pays tribute to the former child migrants who showed the strength to give evidence to the inquiry and to all of those who fought so long for truth and justice; notes that although the Government publicly apologised to former child migrants in 2010, it has not yet made any financial redress directly to them; supports the report's recommendation that child migrants are financially compensated by the Government through a redress scheme; further supports the report's recommendation that due to the age and, in some cases, ill health of former child migrants that reparations should be urgently introduced; and calls on the Government to establish a financial redress scheme without delay, to heed the report's recommendation that all child migrants should be entitled to an equal award on the basis they were exposed to equal risk and to ensure that payments begin within 12 months.

This motion has been signed by a total of 8 MPs.

Lisa Nandy28/03/2018WiganLabourProposed
Norman Lamb28/03/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Caroline Lucas28/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jo Stevens28/03/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Jon Cruddas28/03/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSeconded
Kate Green28/03/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns28/03/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce28/03/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.