Parliament Website

Professor Stephen Hawking

EDM number 1174 in 2017-19, proposed by Carol Monaghan on 18/04/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Death and Science.

That this House is deeply saddened by the death of Professor Stephen Hawking, the remarkable physicist, cosmologist and author, whose brilliance and persistence in the exploration of science inspired millions around the globe, notably through his book A Brief History of Time which helped non-scientists understand fundamental questions of physics and our existence; recalls his many contributions to the study of quantum theory and theoretical cosmology; notes his election to the Royal Society at the young age of 32, and his work as Lucasian professor of mathematics at Cambridge; offers its condolences to his family; and expresses its hope that his legacy of looking up at the stars, and not down at his feet, will be remembered for generations to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Carol Monaghan18/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartyProposed
Alan Brown18/04/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss18/04/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Lisa Cameron18/04/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock18/04/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands18/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally18/04/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald18/04/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law18/04/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray18/04/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady18/04/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry18/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Linden18/04/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards19/04/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon19/04/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Julian Lewis19/04/2018New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/04/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Chris Stephens23/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/04/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Doughty23/04/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Martyn Day24/04/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon24/04/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Daniel Zeichner25/04/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas25/04/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Mike Hill25/04/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn30/04/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Matt Western02/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell10/05/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows10/05/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil21/05/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Tim Farron21/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Douglas Chapman24/05/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.