Parliament Website

Loss Of Champions League Coverage On Free To Air Television

EDM number 1218 in 2017-19, proposed by John Grogan on 01/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Broadcasting and Sports.

That this House is concerned that from next season there will be no football UEFA Champions League or Europa League highlights on any of the major free to air channels in the UK; notes that UEFA have decided to sell the rights exclusively to pay television providers in an increasing number of European countries for the period 2018 to 2021 in contrast to European Rugby which is bringing some matches in the European Rugby Champions Cup back live on Channel 4 next season; further notes that for many matches more people watch the free to air highlights for the Champions League than watch the live coverage on BT Sport which attracts less than a quarter of the viewers that used to watch live on terrestrial television; notes that one of the major sponsors of the Champions League, Heineken, has suggested it would prefer to see some matches in countries such as the UK return to free to air; urges BT Sport who hold all UK rights to offer at a reasonable price the highlights rights to one of the main easily accessible free to air channels; calls on the Government to add UEFA Champions League highlights to those listed events which must be offered to the free to air channels; and asks the European Commission to open an inquiry to investigate whether the bundling of all live and highlights rights by UEFA is an infringement of competition law just as they investigated the English Premier League a decade ago.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

John Grogan01/05/2018Proposed
Jo Stevens01/05/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
David Amess01/05/2018Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Dan Jarvis01/05/2018Barnsley CentralLabourSeconded
Martin Vickers01/05/2018CleethorpesConservativeSeconded
Jonathan Lord01/05/2018WokingConservativeSeconded
Ian Mearns01/05/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley01/05/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Grahame Morris01/05/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
David Hanson01/05/2018DelynLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham01/05/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Kevin Barron01/05/2018Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Albert Owen01/05/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Matt Western01/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Alex Sobel01/05/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards02/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi02/05/2018GowerLabourSigned
Ruth George02/05/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Ian Lucas02/05/2018WrexhamLabourSigned
Martyn Day02/05/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon02/05/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner02/05/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Bob Blackman03/05/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara08/05/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle08/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Hugh Gaffney08/05/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Wes Streeting09/05/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham09/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hill09/05/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Mary Glindon09/05/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens09/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ivan Lewis22/05/2018Bury SouthLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald12/11/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.