Parliament Website

Situation In Turkey

EDM number 123 in 2017-19, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 04/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Human rights, International politics and government, Middle East and Political parties.

That this House continues to be extremely concerned about the on-going crackdown on media workers, lawyers, public servants, parliamentarians and non-violent political activists in Turkey; notes that many parliamentarians, including Enis Berberoglu, Figen Yuksekdag and Selahattin Demirtas and over 150 media professionals, including Ahmet Altan, Ahmet Sik and Musa Kart, are being prosecuted on spurious charges; further notes that, since the coup attempt in July 2016, authorities in Turkey have reportedly arrested 50,000 people, sacked or suspended 150,000, and shut down over 100 media outlets; hopes that those on the March for Justice from Ankara to Istanbul, led by the leader of the CHP opposition party, are able to conclude their peaceful protest without incident; fears that the attempted coup is being used as yet another pretext to muzzle dissent and purge opponents and that Turkey's long-term stability is being undermined; categorically condemns the use of violence, including attempts to subvert democratically-elected governments by force; and calls on the Government to press the importance of respect for fundamental human rights and rule of law, as well as to raise specific concerns and cases, with counterparts in Turkey, including at the highest levels, as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Ann Clwyd04/07/2017Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Jonathan Edwards05/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Shannon05/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham05/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens05/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
John Spellar06/07/2017WarleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins06/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas10/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alison Thewliss11/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins11/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard11/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law11/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown11/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry11/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Linden12/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn12/07/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley17/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Conor McGinn18/07/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin09/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Joan Ryan09/01/2018Signed

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.