Parliament Website

Visit Of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan To The UK

EDM number 1252 in 2017-19, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 10/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Elections, Human rights, International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House is very concerned about the visit of the Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan to the UK, in light of general elections now being held in Turkey whilst a state of emergency continues to be in place; notes in connection to this that the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights recently stated that it is difficult to imagine how credible elections can be held in an environment where dissenting views and challenges to the ruling party are penalised so severely and that elections held in an environment where democratic freedoms and the rule of law are compromised would raise questions about their legitimacy; encourages the Government of Turkey to restore the constitutional order, respect fundamental freedoms, ensure international election monitors observe the elections and allow all politicians standing for election to campaign freely and receive comparable mainstream media coverage; and calls on the Government to raise these issues as a matter of urgency with the Turkish President during his visit.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Ann Clwyd10/05/2018Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Caroline Lucas10/05/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jonathan Edwards10/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
John Spellar10/05/2018WarleyLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens10/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald10/05/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Mary Glindon10/05/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Joan Ryan10/05/2018Signed
David Lammy10/05/2018TottenhamLabourSigned
David Linden11/05/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day14/05/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon14/05/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Grahame Morris14/05/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon15/05/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Patricia Gibson15/05/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard15/05/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake15/05/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan15/05/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill15/05/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Layla Moran15/05/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Daniel Zeichner15/05/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Hywel Williams16/05/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jo Swinson16/05/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Thelma Walker16/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Sandy Martin16/05/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham17/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle17/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/05/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Marie Rimmer22/05/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Alan Brown12/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry12/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman14/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.