Parliament Website

70th Anniversary Of The Nakba

EDM number 1258 in 2017-19, proposed by Richard Burden on 11/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum, Human rights, International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House notes that 15 May 2018 marks 70 years since the Nakba catastrophe in which more than 750,000 Palestinians fled or were expelled from their homes; further notes that Palestinian refugees' right of return as recognised by UN Resolution 194 has been blocked by successive Israeli governments; notes that there are now over five million Palestinian refugees in the West Bank, Gaza, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon and overseas, as well as internally displaced Palestinians living in Israel; notes the restrictions on civil and political rights for refugees in some of those countries and the extreme vulnerability of Palestinian refugees to the conflict in Syria; calls on the UK Government to work to improve the wellbeing of Palestinian refugees in host countries, without prejudice to their rights under international law, and therefore to respond positively to the UN's appeal to offset the funding crisis now facing the vital work of UNRWA, which has been dramatically worsened by the US' decision to withhold $65 million from the Agency; believes that a just solution for Palestinian refugees based on human rights and international law will be an essential ingredient of durable peace in the Middle East; and further calls on the UK Government to pursue that objective in its international diplomacy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Richard Burden11/05/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourProposed
Alistair Carmichael11/05/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andy Slaughter11/05/2018HammersmithLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris11/05/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Tommy Sheppard11/05/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford11/05/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Catherine West14/05/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham14/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Martyn Day14/05/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens14/05/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards14/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Brendan O'Hara15/05/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens15/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake15/05/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Bottomley15/05/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Law15/05/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan15/05/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell16/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Linden16/05/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle17/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Matt Western21/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Tom Brake21/05/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer22/05/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Alan Brown12/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry12/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman14/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.