Parliament Website

Recycling Of Paper Coffee And Tea Cups

EDM number 1400 in 2017-19, proposed by Peter Aldous on 14/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection and Waste management.

That this House welcomes the recycling initiative for paper coffee and tea cups launched by the Paper Cup Alliance, Alliance for Beverage Cartons and the Environment and the wider supply chain in January 2018; notes the industry's ambition to create a Great Britain-wide collection infrastructure and the scheme's recent expansion to 426 recycling points in 109 local authorities; recognises that paper cups are fully and easily recyclable and are currently being recycled in mills from Kent to Cumbria; further recognises that recycling rates are increasing, while milling capacity in the UK means that all paper cups can easily be recycled within the UK; recognises that recycled cups have created a market for second life material, from art paper to paper bags; congratulates paper cup manufacturer Huhtamaki for collaborating with Gosport Borough Council to create a paper cup recycling pilot; further congratulates Costa Coffee for committing to support the recycling of 500 million cups a year; further notes that the coffee sector contributed £9.6 billion to the economy last year, and accounts for over 130,000 UK jobs, with 24,000 coffee shops boosting UK high streets; and calls on the Government to support and not hinder this important manufacturing, retailing and exporting industry in its efforts to recycle the vast majority of paper cups.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Peter Aldous14/06/2018WaveneyConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley14/06/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Blackman15/06/2018Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon18/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mary Glindon18/06/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
David Simpson19/06/2018Upper BannDUPSeconded
Michael Penning19/06/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham19/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens20/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George20/06/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/06/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
George Howarth21/06/2018KnowsleyLabourSigned
Christine Jardine21/06/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle21/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Chris Evans25/06/2018IslwynLabourSigned
John McNally25/06/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Helen Hayes26/06/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper26/06/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer26/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse27/06/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.