Parliament Website

Killing Of Christian Minorities In Myanmar's Kachin Province

EDM number 1408 in 2017-19, proposed by Ben Lake on 15/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces, Asia, Human rights, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House condemns severely the persecution and systemic killing of Christian minorities in Myanmar's Kachin province by the Myanmar military and government militias; calls on Aung San Suu Kyi to pursue a ceasefire and ensure the safety of those threatened with persecution and displacement, which since April 2018 has seen over 6,800 people flee Kachin; denounces the Myanmar security forces and the Kachin Independence Army for the role they have played in the violence, and asserts that both sides should look to come to a peaceful resolution as soon as possible; calls on the international community to assist to mediate the situation; and demands the allowing of human rights and groups to enter the province so as to help those in need.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Ben Lake15/06/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruProposed
Jonathan Edwards15/06/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts15/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams15/06/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day18/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon18/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
John McNally18/06/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon18/06/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
David Simpson19/06/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Michael Penning19/06/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham19/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley19/06/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon19/06/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Fiona Bruce20/06/2018CongletonConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens20/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty20/06/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson20/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Patrick Grady21/06/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara21/06/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kerr25/06/2018StirlingConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman25/06/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Marie Rimmer26/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Pete Wishart12/07/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss12/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.