Parliament Website

Tackling The Root Causes Of Shop Theft

EDM number 1415 in 2017-19, proposed by Ruth George on 18/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Crime, Service industries and Small businesses.

That this House notes with concern new research from the report of the Centre for Social Justice, entitled Desperate for a Fix, which estimates that there were 38 million incidents of shop theft in 2017 costing £6.3 billion which has considerable impact on retailers and their staff; further notes the latest data from the Office for National Statistics, the Home Office’s Commercial Victimisation survey, the Association of Convenience Stores and the British Retail Consortium shows that the volume of shop theft is increasing; understands that businesses and the people that work in shops are victims of shop theft and are increasingly at risk of violence and verbal abuse when dealing with shop thieves; believes that fresh thinking is needed on ways to tackle the root causes of shop theft with a particular focus on the most prolific drug-addicted shop thieves; seeks greater involvement from police and crime commissioners and the Government to tackle shop theft; calls on the Government to publish its review of the use of out of court disposals started in 2014; and recognises the need for businesses, communities and police forces to collaborate more closely to encourage better reporting and response to shop theft.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Ruth George18/06/2018High PeakLabourProposed
David Simpson19/06/2018Upper BannDUPSeconded
Jim Shannon19/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Ruth Smeeth19/06/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Fiona Bruce20/06/2018CongletonConservativeSeconded
Henry Bellingham20/06/2018North West NorfolkConservativeSeconded
Jim Cunningham20/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens20/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon20/06/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Bob Blackman21/06/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Stephen Lloyd21/06/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle21/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ben Lake21/06/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Philip Davies21/06/2018ShipleyConservativeSigned
John McNally25/06/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin26/06/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas04/07/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Angela Smith09/07/2018Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
David Crausby10/07/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Emma Reynolds11/10/2018Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.