Parliament Website

Detention Of Dual-Nationals In Iran

EDM number 1444 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 21/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Iran, Nationality and Prisons.

That this House expresses concern for the arbitrary detention of dual-nationals in Iran from the UK and other nations; stands in solidarity with recent petitions in the European Parliament, US Congress and Canadian Parliament echoing concerns for the treatment of dual-nationals imprisoned in Iran; expresses particular concern regarding the case of Ms Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe, a British dual-national, who has been arbitrarily detained, has been kept in solitary confinement for over eight and a half months and has had numerous trials conducted in secret courts; expresses dismay that the Government has failed to acknowledge any violation of Ms Zaghari-Ratcliffe's rights; criticises the Government's silence when called on to condemn the actions by the Iranian Government; notes that the Government should make those representations based on human rights obligations; urges the Government to take a more proactive approach when identifying and intervening in cases where British nationals face grave human rights violations; further urges the Government to improve levels of protection for UK nationals imprisoned abroad; calls on the Government to state that in all cases involving British nationals imprisoned abroad, any threat of or actual torture or illĀ­ treatment will not be tolerated and will be publicly condemned by the Government; and notes that human rights of UK nationals detained in Iran must be a redline in any future trade deals negotiated with that country.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Tom Brake21/06/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Tim Farron25/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon25/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/06/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Chris Stephens25/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day25/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham26/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse27/06/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter27/06/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/06/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson27/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Caroline Lucas27/06/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ruth George27/06/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney02/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Layla Moran09/07/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.