Parliament Website

Co-Operatives Fortnight

EDM number 1458 in 2017-19, proposed by Anna Turley on 26/06/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Companies.

That this House notes that the UK Co-operative movement has grown in 2017 to now boasting a combined annual turnover of £36.1 billion owned by 13.1 million members and 234,577 employees; further notes that co-operatives in the UK span across a wide range of sectors from agriculture to arts and culture all guided by the international values and principles of co-operation which include democratic member control, member economic participation and concern for community; recognises that globally there are three million co-operatives worldwide with more than 1.2 billion members and that the top 300 co-operatives and mutuals report a combined turnover of $2.1 trillion US dollars; welcomes the important role that co-operatives play in democratising our economy; and considers that it is in all of our interests to see our co-operative movement continue to grow at an ever increasing rate.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Anna Turley26/06/2018RedcarLabour/Co-operativeProposed
Jim Shannon27/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham27/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
David Crausby27/06/2018Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Edward Davey27/06/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Dennis Skinner28/06/2018BolsoverLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens28/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ged Killen28/06/2018Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stephen Doughty02/07/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney02/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle02/07/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/07/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden04/07/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Matt Western05/07/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon05/07/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Sandy Martin10/07/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick10/07/2018PrestonLabourSigned
James Frith10/07/2018Bury NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen10/07/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Helen Hayes10/07/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Ruth George12/07/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss12/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.