Parliament Website

30th Anniversary Of The Piper Alpha Disaster

EDM number 1486 in 2017-19, proposed by Alex Cunningham on 04/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial health and safety and Oil, petrol and natural gas.

That this House notes with sadness the 30th anniversary of the Piper Alpha disaster which claimed the lives of 167 offshore workers on 6 July 1988; extends a message of condolence and support to the families, friends and workmates affected by this profound and enduring loss; further notes that Lord Cullen's report into the disaster made 106 recommendations to repair and improve the safety culture in the UK's offshore oil and gas industry; welcomes the progress made by employers and workers to implement Lord Cullen's recommendations; notes the Health and Safety Executive's (HSE) recent call on North Sea installation owners to state how they intend to further reduce hydrocarbon releases, particularly those with major accident potential; notes the ongoing delay in publication of the updated workforce engagement guide for HSE inspectors; believes that better enforcement of regulations governing safety committees and workforce safety representatives on installations is essential to the continuous improvement of the offshore safety culture recommended by Lord Cullen; and calls on the Government to better regulate the offshore business environment in the interests of safer working and employment practices on installations and in the supply chain.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Alex Cunningham04/07/2018Stockton NorthLabourProposed
Ian Mearns04/07/2018GatesheadLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris04/07/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens04/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Mike Hill04/07/2018HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Tommy Sheppard04/07/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Jo Stevens04/07/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
John Cryer04/07/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Jim Shannon05/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon05/07/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Ronnie Cowan05/07/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner05/07/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald06/07/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss06/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady09/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts09/07/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Bottomley09/07/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/07/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Chris Law09/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Michael Penning10/07/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Sandy Martin10/07/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer10/07/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Albert Owen10/07/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Helen Hayes10/07/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
David Crausby10/07/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mary Glindon11/07/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael11/07/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine11/07/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth George12/07/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Deidre Brock12/07/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Linden16/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman23/07/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn04/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.