Parliament Website

40th Anniversary Of The Death Of Former Member Of Parliament John Pitcairn Mackintosh

EDM number 1491 in 2017-19, proposed by Martin Whitfield on 06/07/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Members of Parliament.

That this House marks the 40th anniversary of the death of former hon. Member John Pitcairn Mackintosh on 30 July 2018; notes the significant contribution John made to the constituency of Berwick and East Lothian as its hon. Member between 1966 and 1978; recognises John as a key proponent of Scottish devolution, a strong advocate for the UK's involvement in Europe, and a diligent campaigner to reform and empower Select Committees in Parliament; acknowledges his distinguished academic career where he served as a professor of politics at Edinburgh University and his contribution to journalism throughout his political life; remembers John for his friendly, personable, cross-party approach to politics; and further notes and welcomes the important work of the Edinburgh University and East Lothian John P Mackintosh Memorial Lecture Committee established in his honour.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Martin Whitfield06/07/2018East LothianLabourProposed
Ian Murray06/07/2018Edinburgh SouthLabourSeconded
Graham Jones06/07/2018HyndburnLabourSeconded
Alex Sobel06/07/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Bill Grant06/07/2018Ayr, Carrick and CumnockConservativeSeconded
Sandy Martin06/07/2018IpswichLabourSeconded
Anna Turley06/07/2018RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Susan Elan Jones06/07/2018Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon06/07/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Anna McMorrin06/07/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney06/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jim Shannon06/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Jamie Stone06/07/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley09/07/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens09/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady09/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss12/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Linden16/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart18/07/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kerr18/07/2018StirlingConservativeSigned
Ian Blackford18/07/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Jess Phillips18/07/2018Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock18/07/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Kate Green18/07/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/07/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
David Davies19/07/2018MonmouthConservativeSigned
John Spellar19/07/2018WarleyLabourSigned
John McNally19/07/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
David Amess19/07/2018Southend WestConservativeSigned
Stuart McDonald23/07/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Ged Killen23/07/2018Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Richard Burden23/07/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Mhairi Black24/07/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn04/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.