Parliament Website

Targeted Murder Of Afghan Sikhs

EDM number 1499 in 2017-19, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 10/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Afghanistan, Crimes of violence, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House notes with sadness the targeted murder of at least 19 people, mostly Sikhs, on 1 July 2018 in the Afghan city of Jalalabad; acknowledges that the suicide bombing murdered the majority of Afghanistan's Sikh community leaders, including Mr Avtar Singh Khalsa the only Sikh candidate for Parliament; recognises that the Sikh community in Afghanistan, along with other religious minorities, are under sustained assault by a government uninterested in them and a significant minority of the population who want to see them gone; notes that many members of the Afghan Sikh community have come to the UK to seek safety and have joined the large UK Sikh population centred on West London; asks the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs to meet representatives of the Sikh community in the UK to update them on the work the Government is doing; and calls for the Government to work with the international community to offer support and security to the persecuted minorities of Afghanistan.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Virendra Sharma10/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Chris Stephens10/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Sandy Martin11/07/2018IpswichLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham12/07/2018Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Catherine West12/07/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/07/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Matt Western12/07/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Bob Blackman12/07/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Anna Turley12/07/2018RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSigned
David Davies12/07/2018MonmouthConservativeSigned
Jared O'Mara12/07/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
John Cryer12/07/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Mary Glindon12/07/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Lady Hermon16/07/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Alison Thewliss16/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon16/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Law16/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Lefroy16/07/2018StaffordConservativeSigned
Paul Farrelly16/07/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
John Spellar16/07/2018WarleyLabourSigned
David Linden16/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham17/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Thelma Walker17/07/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Mike Hill18/07/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ruth George19/07/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Martyn Day19/07/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Michael Penning19/07/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Anne Main19/07/2018St AlbansConservativeSigned
Kirsty Blackman23/07/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn04/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Chris Williamson04/09/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Alan Brown04/09/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman10/09/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Jon Cruddas17/10/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.