Parliament Website

Terminal Illness And Benefits Eligibility

EDM number 1535 in 2017-19, proposed by Drew Hendry on 17/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits policy, Diseases and Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House notes with concern that many people with terminal illnesses who are expected to live longer than six months cannot claim for benefits under the special rules due to the Department of Work and Pensions' definition of terminal illness which states that eligibility is dependent on whether the claimant can be reasonably expected to die within the next six months; further notes the recommendations made in MND's most recent report that claimants living with diseases that have a rapidly progressive nature should be treated in the same manner as those that have a certified prognosis of death within six months; and urges the Government to remove any time qualification for people that are terminally ill.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Drew Hendry17/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartyProposed
Neil Gray17/07/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil17/07/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Gethins17/07/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan17/07/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock17/07/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Tommy Sheppard17/07/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford17/07/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady17/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson17/07/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows17/07/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Linden17/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown17/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron17/07/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry17/07/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman17/07/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon18/07/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Law18/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson18/07/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Carol Monaghan18/07/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill18/07/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Stewart McDonald18/07/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards18/07/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day19/07/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma19/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas19/07/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/07/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Layla Moran23/07/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham23/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ruth George24/07/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Sandy Martin24/07/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley04/09/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Liz Saville Roberts05/09/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Girvan05/09/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Ben Lake06/09/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Farrelly06/09/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney10/09/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman10/09/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker10/09/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald10/10/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.