Parliament Website

Childcare Vouchers No. 2

EDM number 1544 in 2017-19, proposed by Catherine McKinnell on 23/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Child care and Taxation.

That this House notes that the Government is closing Childcare Vouchers to new entrants from 4 October 2018 without having conducted a proper analysis of the winners and losers from removing the scheme and replacing it with Tax-Free Childcare, despite a recommendation to so do by the Treasury Select Committee; further notes that families must be able to make an informed choice about the childcare that best suits their family needs, based on a comprehensive and flexible package of support; recognises the benefits of Tax-Free Childcare for certain family types, but is concerned that many low-income families will be worse off than if they were to carry on using Childcare Vouchers; calls on the Government to keep Childcare Vouchers open alongside Tax-Free Childcare so that parents can choose the scheme that offers the most support to their family; and urges the Government to ensure that hon. Members are given the opportunity to debate and vote on these proposed changes on the floor of the House before they are fully implemented.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Catherine McKinnell23/07/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourProposed
Lady Hermon23/07/2018North DownIndependentSeconded
Lisa Cameron23/07/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Tom Brake23/07/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lucy Powell23/07/2018Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Jess Phillips23/07/2018Birmingham, YardleyLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham23/07/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
23/07/2018Bury NorthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper23/07/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Luciana Berger23/07/2018Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden23/07/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
John Grogan23/07/2018Signed
23/07/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff23/07/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas23/07/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Clive Efford23/07/2018ElthamLabourSigned
David Drew23/07/2018Signed
Ruth George23/07/2018Signed
Teresa Pearce23/07/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
23/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Tan Dhesi23/07/2018Signed
Ronnie Campbell23/07/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin23/07/2018Signed
23/07/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ann Clwyd23/07/2018Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
23/07/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
John Spellar23/07/2018WarleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma23/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Flynn23/07/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Patrick Grady24/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham24/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
24/07/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Grahame Morris24/07/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
24/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
24/07/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner24/07/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
John Woodcock24/07/2018Barrow and FurnessLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.