Parliament Website

Auchengeich Collierry Disaster

EDM number 1561 in 2017-19, proposed by Hugh Gaffney on 24/07/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Coal.

That this House notes that 18 September 2018 will mark the 59th anniversary of the Auchengeich Colliery disaster, in which 47 miners went to work never to return home to their families, leaving 76 children without a father and a community devastated; recognises the fact that the youngest man to die was 22 years old and the oldest was 62 and that these men gave their lives to building better communities for working class people; further notes that each year the community comes together to remember those who lost their life and to support the families who lost loved ones; notes that on 8 September 2018 the Auchengeich Miners Memorial Committee will host a cabaret show to raise money to finance the annual memorial service; and urges people from across the UK to attend and wishes all those who will be coming together the very best of wishes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Hugh Gaffney24/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourProposed
Lady Hermon24/07/2018North DownIndependentSeconded
Ged Killen24/07/2018Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Catherine West24/07/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Martin Whitfield24/07/2018East LothianLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon24/07/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Giles Watling24/07/2018ClactonConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham04/09/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown04/09/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens04/09/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell05/09/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Patrick Grady05/09/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/09/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson05/09/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Grahame Morris05/09/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Michael Penning05/09/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell05/09/2018East LondonderryDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner05/09/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards05/09/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
David Linden06/09/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George06/09/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.