Parliament Website

Suicide Awareness Day

EDM number 1601 in 2017-19, proposed by Jim Shannon on 10/09/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Mental health.

That this House on Suicide Awareness Day extends sincere sympathy to every home that has been touched by the loss of a loved one through suicide; notes that Northern Ireland has seen the loss of more people from suicide after the Belfast Agreement than through the troubles themselves; further notes that despite having a 25 per cent prevalence of mental health problems in Northern Ireland, which is the highest of all regions of the UK, Northern Ireland is not adequately funded to deal with suicide; reaffirms the pledge to ensure that there is funding and help available to address these horrific statistics; and asks the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care to make contact with the Permanent Secretary for Health in Northern Ireland to discuss this issue in depth and work towards a co-ordinated funded UK-wide Suicide Strategy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Jim Shannon10/09/2018StrangfordDUPProposed
Jeffrey M Donaldson10/09/2018Lagan ValleyDUPSeconded
Nigel Dodds10/09/2018Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Emma Little Pengelly10/09/2018Belfast SouthDUPSeconded
Paul Girvan10/09/2018South AntrimDUPSeconded
David Simpson10/09/2018Upper BannDUPSeconded
Gregory Campbell10/09/2018East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martyn Day11/09/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham11/09/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/09/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens11/09/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill11/09/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Michael Penning12/09/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Mike Gapes12/09/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson12/09/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/09/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon13/09/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
David Linden13/09/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker09/10/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon10/10/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Stewart McDonald11/10/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George11/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron11/10/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman23/10/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Stephen Hepburn19/11/2018JarrowLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.