Parliament Website

Mod Guards Tendering Process

EDM number 165 in 2017-19, proposed by Lisa Nandy on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Defence policy.

That this House expresses concerns about the tendering of Ministry of Defence (MoD) guarding services; rejects any change in contracting of MoD guards which removes the emphasis from safety and security; urges the Government not to indulge in a cost-cutting exercise; is appalled by reports that, if taken over by a contractor, commercial guards could be guarding a supermarket one day and a nuclear site the next; values the levels of experience, expertise and training current MoD guards have in reserve; recognises the difficulties of MoD security contracts already awarded to the private sector; notes that value for money is a factor in the procurement process and presses for any comparisons drawn during the decision-making process to be made on a level playing field; is alarmed by talk of companies sub-contracting even before the contract has been awarded; and urges that the decision on tendering is made in the public interest.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Lisa Nandy11/07/2017WiganLabourProposed
Grahame Morris11/07/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Sandy Martin11/07/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Ian Mearns11/07/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Jo Stevens11/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Dan Carden11/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens11/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner13/07/2017BolsoverLabourSeconded
Mike Hill13/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Martin Docherty13/07/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John Spellar13/07/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Neil Coyle17/07/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Luke Pollard17/07/2017Plymouth, Sutton and DevonportLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gavin Robinson17/07/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Clive Betts17/07/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
John McNally17/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon17/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Brendan O'Hara18/07/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Conor McGinn18/07/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Wes Streeting20/07/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker20/07/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock20/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden05/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jess Phillips05/09/2017Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Gareth Snell11/09/2017Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ben Lake09/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards09/10/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts09/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams09/10/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Albert Owen18/10/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper19/12/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Mark Tami20/02/2018Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Angela Eagle27/02/2018WallaseyLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss23/04/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.