Parliament Website

Spina Bifida And Hydrocephalus Awareness Week

EDM number 1676 in 2017-19, proposed by Owen Smith on 10/10/2018.

That this House recognises Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Awareness Week from 22 to 26 October 2018; commends the work of charities like Shine and SBH Scotland which provide specialist advice and support for spina bifida and hydrocephalus; notes that folic acid deficiency has led to life threatening birth defects in over 3,000 children since 1997; further notes that a 1991 study found that taking folic acid supplements before pregnancy reduced the risk of neural tube defects by 72 per cent; further recognises that that a study published earlier in 2018 concluded there is no need for an upper limit on folate and stated that every day in the UK, on average two women have a termination of pregnancy because of a neural tube defect and every week two women give birth to an affected child; and calls on the Government to follow the example of Australia, Canada, the US and 80 other countries across the world and legislate to implement the mandatory fortification of flour with folic acid to prevent neural tube defects including spina bifida, hydrocephalus and anencephaly.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Owen Smith10/10/2018PontypriddLabourProposed
Jim Cunningham11/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns11/10/2018GatesheadLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon11/10/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jonathan Edwards11/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Jo Stevens11/10/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
John Spellar11/10/2018WarleyLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly11/10/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney11/10/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan11/10/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill11/10/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Mary Glindon11/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens11/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss15/10/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson15/10/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds15/10/2018Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Michael Penning15/10/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley15/10/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Davies15/10/2018MonmouthConservativeSigned
Ben Lake15/10/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
John McNally15/10/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald15/10/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Tonia Antoniazzi15/10/2018GowerLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse15/10/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron15/10/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson16/10/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner16/10/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law22/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George22/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell22/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman23/10/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper24/10/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Emma Reynolds29/10/2018Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.