Parliament Website

Leah Sharibu

EDM number 1689 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 11/10/2018.

That this House expresses grave concern for the safety of Leah Sharibu who is currently held hostage in Northern Nigeria by the terrorist group Boko Haram; notes that Leah was abducted along with 110 girls when she was 14 on 19 February 2018; further notes that Leah is the only girl who remains in captivity due to her refusal to convert to Islam; condemns the barbarous acts of terrorism committed by Boko Haram through these abductions; expresses further condemnation that the al Barnawi faction of the Boko Haram terrorist group has executed one of three female humanitarian workers who were abducted in March and has subsequently threatened to kill Leah and the two remaining aid workers; congratulates and stands in solidarity with Leah for the bravery shown during such a terrifying ordeal; acknowledges the recent 200-hour protest to mark 200 days since Leah's abduction, organised by CSW UK outside the Nigerian High Commission; and calls on the Government to urgently and strongly call upon the government of Nigeria to expedite the release of Leah and other captives held by Boko Haram.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Tom Brake11/10/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley15/10/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day15/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens15/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon16/10/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham16/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon17/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell22/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George22/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Chris Law22/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman23/10/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.