Parliament Website

First Anniversary Of The Assassination Of Maltese Investigative Journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia

EDM number 1697 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 15/10/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence, Death, Media and Western Europe.

That this House again condemns the assassination of Maltese investigative journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia, who was killed by a car bomb one year ago on 16 October 2017; notes that a full year on there has still not been justice for her murder; commends her courageous investigative reporting, including her work on the Panama Papers; is concerned by the defamation cases that continue against her posthumously, including lawsuits filed by senior government officials; expresses serious concern over the alarming trend that has followed of an increase in violence and threats of violence against journalists across Europe, including the murders of Ján Kuciak in Slovakia on 21 February 2018 and Viktoria Marinova in Bulgaria on 6 October 2018; further notes that Europe, the region that has traditionally respected press freedom the most, deteriorated the most in Reporters Without Borders' 2018 World Press Freedom Index, with Malta experiencing the sharpest decline in ranking, down 18 places to 65th out of 180 countries; calls for increased international oversight of the investigation, such as through the mandate of the Special Rapporteur of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe on the assassination of Daphne Caruana Galizia; and supports the call by the Caruana Galizia family to establish a public inquiry into whether the murder could have been prevented.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Tom Brake15/10/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Wes Streeting15/10/2018Ilford NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon15/10/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Stewart McDonald15/10/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas15/10/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Peter Bottomley15/10/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martin Docherty16/10/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson16/10/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards16/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day17/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Linden17/10/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tim Farron18/10/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn18/10/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris Law22/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell22/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine22/10/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Wera Hobhouse22/10/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Penning22/10/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Hugh Gaffney23/10/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jo Swinson23/10/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon23/10/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Sammy Wilson24/10/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Angela Smith24/10/2018Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Ruth George25/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Edward Davey25/10/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer29/10/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jo Stevens01/11/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.