Parliament Website

Forced Repatriation Of Teachers From Pakistan To Turkey

EDM number 1706 in 2017-19, proposed by Jim Shannon on 16/10/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, International politics and government, Middle East and Teachers.

That this House expresses concern about the Turkish Government's demand for the forced repatriation of some 285 Turkish teachers and their families living legally in Pakistan; notes that many teachers have been illegally returned by the Pakistani Government and have faced arbitrary arrest, detention and even torture by Turkish authorities; supports the working group of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees description of these deportations as a grave violation of human rights; calls on the Turkish Government to release any detained teachers and family members; further calls on the Pakistani Government to refuse to repatriate any remaining teachers; and calls on the Government to make representations to its Turkish and Pakistani counterparts on behalf of those teachers and their families who have been arbitrarily deported and detained.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Jim Shannon16/10/2018StrangfordDUPProposed
Gavin Robinson16/10/2018Belfast EastDUPSeconded
David Simpson16/10/2018Upper BannDUPSeconded
Gregory Campbell16/10/2018East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Paul Girvan16/10/2018South AntrimDUPSeconded
Jonathan Edwards17/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
David Linden17/10/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon17/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle18/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Chris Stephens18/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law22/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara22/10/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Emma Little Pengelly22/10/2018Belfast SouthDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham22/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Michael Penning22/10/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman23/10/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon23/10/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Peter Bottomley24/10/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ruth George25/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer29/10/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.