Parliament Website

Seafarer Jobs On Offshore Supply Vessels

EDM number 1708 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 16/10/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Industry and Shipping.

That this House notes that the planned merger in the US of offshore supply vessel (OSV) operators Gulfmark and Tidewater would create the world's largest OSV company; further notes that Gulfmark currently operate 30 British registered OSVs representing the last source of major employment for up to 300 UK seafarer Ratings on collectively bargained rates of pay in the North Sea oil and gas industry; further notes that Tidewater's global crewing model employs Filipino Ratings on a basic wage of 614 US dollars per month; is concerned by the RMT union's estimate that up to 1,000 UK seafarers have lost jobs on North Sea OSVs since oil prices crashed in 2014; notes that 166 OSVs across the North Sea are currently laid up, some in UK ports with crew paid below the national minimum wage (NMW); is alarmed that Indian crews of Malaviya 7 and Malaviya 20 OSVs were abandoned, unpaid in UK ports when their employer went bankrupt; and calls upon the Government to secure guarantees from Gulfmark and Tidewater that jobs and trade union rights for British Ratings are protected after any merger and to bring forward secondary legislation to enforce the NMW for all seafarers on OSVs from UK ports.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Ian Mearns16/10/2018GatesheadLabourProposed
Mary Glindon16/10/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Alistair Carmichael16/10/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alex Cunningham16/10/2018Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris16/10/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hill16/10/2018HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell17/10/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Shannon17/10/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day17/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner18/10/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle18/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham22/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Michael Penning22/10/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Hugh Gaffney23/10/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Christine Jardine24/10/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley24/10/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ruth George25/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman26/10/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer29/10/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff05/11/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.