Parliament Website

Civilian Enforcement Privatisation

EDM number 176 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 12/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Civil law and Security industry.

That this House believes that work currently undertaken by civilian enforcement officers employed by HM Courts and Tribunals Service should remain in the public sector where they consistently outperform bailiffs employed by authorised enforcement agents in the private sector; notes that the majority of financial penalties enforced by such staff relate to motoring issues, failure to obtain a television licence and other similar matters often involving defaulters who are among the most vulnerable in society; is concerned that the report Taking control: the need for fundamental bailiff reform, published in March 2017, concluded that in the absence of an independent bailiff regulator, the Government's reforms have had a negligible impact on protecting the public from overzealous and aggressive bailiffs; is aware that civilian enforcement officers are invested with the authority to enter and search premises, to arrest and search often vulnerable defaulters and place them in custody before the court; is further concerned by Government plans to give such powers to poorly-regulated private bailiffs who are not subject to the Civil Service Code; deeply regrets that a previous attempt to privatise the enforcement of financial penalties was abandoned at an extraordinary cost to the public purse; and therefore urges the Government to retain the effective, safe and fair enforcement of criminal fines within the public sector rather than risk the safety and finances of the public through privatisation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts12/07/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Jonathan Edwards12/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams12/07/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake12/07/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day13/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mike Hill13/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
David Linden13/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham17/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens17/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/07/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Vincent Cable20/07/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Thelma Walker05/09/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd05/09/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff05/09/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous11/09/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Tim Farron12/09/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandy Martin17/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves18/10/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara07/11/2017Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Mary Glindon24/01/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Lucas16/04/2018WrexhamLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock30/04/2018AberavonLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.