Parliament Website

Public Ownership Of Water In England

EDM number 1761 in 2017-19, proposed by Alex Sobel on 26/10/2018.

That this House recognises the great strength of public anger at the behaviour of England's private water companies; notes that contrary to the claims of the water industry, a recent paper published by Greenwich University's Public Services International Research Unit has found that private water shareholders have benefited from £56 billion in dividends, funded through £51 billion of debt, which customers are paying for through their bills, and that private funding is not necessary to cover the English companies' operating costs, interest and capital investment; congratulates the publicly owned Scottish Water on its successful operation for the last 16 years, and for saving their customers £42 per year on average compared to English bills; recognises the sustained campaign for public ownership of water headed by We Own It and backed by Compass, GMB, Unite, UNISON, the New Economics Foundation and the Transnational Institute this past summer; further recognises the potential for a publicly owned water industry in the UK to reduce bills, leaks and pollution, and to improve our cities and waterways; eagerly anticipates modern, democratic and participatory public ownership of public services; and calls on the Government to bring the English water companies into public ownership as soon as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Alex Sobel26/10/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeProposed
Deidre Brock30/10/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas30/10/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle01/11/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/11/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Gareth Snell05/11/2018Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Lucy Allan05/11/2018TelfordConservativeSigned
Jared O'Mara05/11/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Ian Mearns05/11/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Thelma Walker05/11/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Kate Hoey05/11/2018VauxhallLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff05/11/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham05/11/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
George Howarth05/11/2018KnowsleyLabourSigned
Emma Hardy06/11/2018Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Mark Tami06/11/2018Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner06/11/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter12/11/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Helen Hayes12/11/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Catherine West12/11/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner12/11/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Chris Evans12/11/2018IslwynLabourSigned
Graham Stringer12/11/2018Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/11/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Mann12/11/2018BassetlawLabourSigned
Kate Green12/11/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce12/11/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly14/11/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Janet Daby19/11/2018Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick21/11/2018PrestonLabourSigned
James Frith26/11/2018Bury NorthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas26/11/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.