Parliament Website

Customs Union Membership

EDM number 2 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Doughty on 21/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of EU law and treaties and International trade.

That this House notes the benefits of UK membership of the EU Customs Union which removes costly and time-consuming customs processes and red tape for trade with other EU member states, allows the operation of a soft Northern Ireland-Republic of Ireland border that would be in jeopardy were the UK to leave, and allows the UK to fully benefit from 56 existing trade agreements signed with external countries which by leaving could result in less preferential terms under any other bilateral trade re-negotiations; further notes that the terms of UK membership of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) are currently governed by its membership of the EU Customs Union, and that by leaving in order to become an independent member of the WTO the UK's existing WTO commitments would need to be renegotiated; and calls on the Government to negotiate for the UK to remain a member of the EU Customs Union following the UK's withdrawal from the EU.

This motion has been signed by a total of 72 MPs.

Stephen Doughty21/06/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourProposed
Chuka Umunna21/06/2017StreathamLabourSeconded
Kate Green21/06/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSeconded
Catherine McKinnell21/06/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Murray21/06/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens21/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Clive Betts21/06/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Maria Eagle21/06/2017Garston and HalewoodLabourSigned
Christine Jardine21/06/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Layla Moran21/06/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Lloyd21/06/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil21/06/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson21/06/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Stevens21/06/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard21/06/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma21/06/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi21/06/2017GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins21/06/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas21/06/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock21/06/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Geraint Davies21/06/2017Swansea WestLabourSigned
Naseem Shah21/06/2017Bradford WestLabourSigned
Ben Lake21/06/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Edward Davey21/06/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Woodcock21/06/2017Barrow and FurnessLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael21/06/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards21/06/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Caroline Lucas21/06/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Rushanara Ali21/06/2017Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Karen Buck21/06/2017Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd21/06/2017Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Mike Gapes21/06/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Helen Goodman21/06/2017Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Helen Hayes21/06/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Peter Kyle21/06/2017HoveLabourSigned
Phil Wilson21/06/2017SedgefieldLabourSigned
Stephen Timms21/06/2017East HamLabourSigned
Wes Streeting21/06/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Angela Smith21/06/2017Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Tulip Siddiq21/06/2017Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Alison McGovern21/06/2017Wirral SouthLabourSigned
David Lammy21/06/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Alex Sobel22/06/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Neil Coyle22/06/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Anneliese Dodds22/06/2017Oxford EastLabour/Co-operativeSigned
David Linden22/06/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George22/06/2017High PeakLabourSigned
John McNally22/06/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle26/06/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Barry Sheerman26/06/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
David Drew26/06/2017Signed
Martyn Day26/06/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Sweeney26/06/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge26/06/2017BarkingLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald26/06/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald26/06/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell27/06/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Carol Monaghan27/06/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner03/07/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford03/07/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant04/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell04/07/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray04/07/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan04/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Paul Farrelly12/07/2017Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry20/07/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Eleanor Smith05/09/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/09/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse09/10/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.