Parliament Website

25th Anniversary Of The Zero Tolerance Campaign

EDM number 217 in 2017-19, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 18/07/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Crimes of violence.

That this House notes that 2017 marks 25 years since the launch of the Zero Tolerance campaign in Scotland; understands that the Zero Tolerance campaign was instigated by Evelyn Gillan, Campaigns Officer at Edinburgh District Council, and initially ran over a six month period in 1992 to highlight the effect of male violence against women; further understands that the campaign received substantial backing by local authorities, charities and third sector organisations across the UK, as well as influencing campaigns to end violence against women in over 25 countries; believes that the Zero Tolerance campaign made a substantial contribution to changing attitudes towards violence against women; pays tribute to the work of Evelyn Gillan and all at Zero Tolerance for its ongoing efforts to tackle violence against women; and calls on the Government to set out its timetable for ratification of the Istanbul Convention at the earliest possible opportunity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Alison Thewliss18/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
Joanna Cherry18/07/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden18/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford18/07/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown18/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands18/07/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally18/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Martyn Day18/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon18/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Patrick Grady18/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant18/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law18/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows18/07/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson18/07/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie18/07/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald18/07/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins18/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald19/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson19/07/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards19/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Cowan20/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz20/07/2017Leicester EastLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard20/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd05/09/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon11/09/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Harriet Harman12/10/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Nigel Evans23/10/2017Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Barry Sheerman24/10/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Jamie Stone13/11/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.