Parliament Website

Boundary Commission Proposals

EDM number 222 in 2017-19, proposed by Graham Jones on 19/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Electoral register and Parliament.

That this House notes the Boundary Commission's proposals, which seek to reduce the number of parliamentary constituencies from 650 to 600; recognises that constituencies should be equally sized; regrets that many of the proposals do not adequately engage with natural divisions; is concerned that the Commission's calculations are based on outdated electoral register figures; believes that millions of newly registered voters during the recent elections and referendum should be included in any proposals; further recognises that many of these voters are young people who should be welcomed into our democratic system; and calls on the Government to suspend the introduction of boundary changes to meet these concerns.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Graham Jones19/07/2017HyndburnLabourProposed
Jim Cunningham19/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Matt Western19/07/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner20/07/2017BolsoverLabourSeconded
Martyn Day20/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens20/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Kinnock05/09/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle05/09/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
David Linden06/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/09/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma07/09/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell07/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon12/09/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alan Brown09/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin17/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.