Parliament Website

150 Years Of The Theatre Royal In Glasgow

EDM number 298 in 2017-19, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 11/09/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Performing arts.

That this House notes that the Theatre Royal in Glasgow will commemorate its 150th anniversary in 2017; understands that the Theatre Royal first opened in 1867 and, in addition to its role as the oldest active theatre in Glasgow, has served as the first television studio for STV and is currently home to Scottish Opera and Scottish Ballet; further understands that the Theatre Royal reopened in December 2014 following a multi-million pound restoration project, which was supported by the Scottish Government, Glasgow City Council, Heritage Lottery Fund and a range of individual and commercial donors; believes that the Theatre Royal has made a substantial contribution to the cultural life of Glasgow, entertaining countless audiences both on the stage and over the airwaves across Scotland; congratulates the Theatre Royal on their 150th anniversary; and wishes the performers, management team and staff of the theatre every success for the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Alison Thewliss11/09/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
Carol Monaghan11/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Lisa Cameron11/09/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens11/09/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden11/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry11/09/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald11/09/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson11/09/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald11/09/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant11/09/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/09/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty11/09/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock11/09/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown11/09/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford11/09/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day12/09/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon12/09/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson12/09/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Chris Law13/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady13/09/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell14/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney14/09/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham09/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Neil Gray11/10/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis12/10/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Stephen Gethins26/10/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.