Parliament Website

150th Anniversary Of The Publication Of Walter Bagehot's The English Constitution (No. 2)

EDM number 322 in 2017-19, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 14/09/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Constitution and Press.

That this House celebrates the 150th anniversary in 2017 of the publication of the English Constitution, written by Walter Bagehot; recalls that he cleverly distinguished the effective parts of a constitution from the decorative parts; recognises that this still has a powerful resonance in the modern world; and believes that the nations of Europe, including Britain, should seek to ensure that the effectiveness of their national parliaments is restored and secured for the future and that parliaments do not become mere constitutional decoration in the face of the continuing encroachment of the EU on parliamentary democracy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 6 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins14/09/2017Luton NorthLabourProposed
Kate Hoey14/09/2017VauxhallLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer14/09/2017Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Frank Field14/09/2017BirkenheadLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham09/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Lady Hermon10/10/2017North DownIndependentSeconded

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.