Parliament Website

British Success At The International Biology Olympiad And Biology Week 2017

EDM number 336 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Metcalfe on 09/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Science and Students.

That this House congratulates the four students selected to represent the UK at the 28th International Biology Olympiad in July 2017, hosted for the first time by the UK and organised by the Royal Society of Biology and held at the University of Warwick; applauds the achievement of all four UK biology students who were awarded medals; notes that more than 7,590 students took part in the first round of this competition of which 147 students were selected for a further stage after which the top four students were selected from a shortlist of 16 at the British Biology Olympiad final held at the University of Warwick; congratulates the UK teams of Jiaqi Chen, Gold medal winner, William Chadwick, Silver medal winner, and James Baudry and Rebecca Eden, Bronze medal winners, on their outstanding success in 2017's international competition; recognises that students in the UK can compete against the very best biologists in the world and emerge as winners; further congratulates the Royal Society of Biology and the UK Biology Competitions Special Interest Group, together with the University of Warwick, on their key role in organising this competition; and further applauds the work of the Royal Society of Biology's Biology Week in October 2017 being launched with a reception in the House on 11 October 2017.

This motion has been signed by a total of 10 MPs.

Stephen Metcalfe09/10/2017South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeProposed
Jim Shannon10/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham10/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley10/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Chris Law24/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby01/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.