Parliament Website

VAT On Community Public Access Defibrillators

EDM number 352 in 2017-19, proposed by Thelma Walker on 10/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Health services and Taxation.

That this House notes that VAT of 20 per cent is charged on community public access defibrillators and the secure cabinet in which they are housed; further notes that more than 30,000 people a year have a cardiac arrest in a non-hospital location; observes that from cardiac arrest there is on average five minutes to save a life; notes the chance of survival after the heart stops falls by around 10 per cent for every minute that passes without defibrillation; recommends that every community should have a community public access defibrillator in an easily accessible location; points out that if VAT were removed from community defibrillators then every sixth machine would be free; congratulates the communities who fundraise for these vital pieces of life-saving equipment; and urges the Government to remove VAT from community public access defibrillators and their cabinets.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

Thelma Walker10/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourProposed
Jim Shannon11/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alison Thewliss11/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Lady Hermon11/10/2017North DownIndependentSeconded
David Simpson11/10/2017Upper BannDUPSeconded
Martin Docherty11/10/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Robinson11/10/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham11/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts12/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Twist16/10/2017BlaydonLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd16/10/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephanie Peacock16/10/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green16/10/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Morgan16/10/2017Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Madeleine Moon16/10/2017BridgendLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin16/10/2017BedfordLabourSigned
Mike Gapes16/10/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick16/10/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
George Howarth16/10/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Ruth George17/10/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle17/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Caroline Lucas18/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Stephen Doughty18/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Mike Hill18/10/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper19/10/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Jo Stevens23/10/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan23/10/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman24/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands24/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law24/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake25/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Christine Jardine25/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Eleanor Smith26/10/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Alex Sobel26/10/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
John Grogan30/10/2017Signed
Alex Cunningham30/10/2017Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma30/10/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell30/10/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams31/10/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby01/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Preet Kaur Gill01/11/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Graham Jones01/11/2017HyndburnLabourSigned
Sandy Martin06/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Harriet Harman06/11/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury13/11/2017Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Matt Western14/11/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Bambos Charalambous21/11/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid11/12/2017Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.