Parliament Website

EU Seasonal Workers In The UK Agriculture Industry

EDM number 375 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 11/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Agriculture, Employment, Immigration and Nationality.

That this House recognises the critical contribution that seasonal workers from across the EU make to the UK farming industry and fresh produce supply network; demands that the Government unilaterally guarantees the rights and status of EU nationals who comprise a substantial part of the seasonal workforce which enables the UK farming community to continue growing locally produced food and, in particular, the fruit and vegetable sector that is so important to the economy of Fife and Tayside; notes the important social, cultural and family, as well as economic, contribution that EU nationals make to the UK; further demands that the Government brings to an end the ongoing uncertainty surrounding the status of EU citizens who live and work in the agricultural sector; believes that such a guarantee would ensure farmers and farm co-operatives, such as East of Scotland Growers in Cupar, Fife, could plan and invest in future crop production and attract workers from across the EU to meet labour and demographic needs; and encourages the Government to recognise the demographic immigration needs of different parts of the UK, and in particular Scotland's need for a fair robust and secure immigration system and prevent any catastrophic regression of the fresh produce sector, and to recreate a Seasonal Agricultural Workers Scheme open to countries beyond those of the EU.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Stephen Gethins11/10/2017North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon12/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Pete Wishart16/10/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Hugh Gaffney16/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham16/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady16/10/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine16/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Duffield18/10/2017CanterburyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Peter Grant23/10/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Henderson23/10/2017Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Douglas Chapman24/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands24/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake25/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams31/10/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts31/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.