Parliament Website

Review Of The Roll-Out Of Universal Credit

EDM number 381 in 2017-19, proposed by Neil Coyle on 11/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits administration, Benefits policy, Incomes and poverty and Working age benefits.

That this House is concerned that research from Citizens Advice indicates that over half of claimants of universal credit are in debt, putting huge anxiety and stress onto families; notes that on average universal credit claimants have less than £4 per month to repay creditors and that the system of advance payments immediately puts claimants into debt; further notes that the six weeks initial waiting period and further payment delays for around 20 per cent of claimants increase the number of claimants who have to resort to loans or debt at the start of their claim; calls on the Government to report monthly to the House on the number of full service claimants on universal credit and the numbers receiving their payments in full and on time, and to pause the roll-out for an urgent review of the level of support received under universal credit, the seven day waiting period for which no payment is made, the 63 per cent clawback of earnings, the work allowances which have been severely cut and the support for families with disabled children which has been abolished within universal credit; urges the Government to ensure that households that combine work with support under universal credit can achieve a decent minimum standard of living, that levels of personal debt are not increased and that universal credit is no longer a factor in the projected increase in child poverty; and further calls on the Government to make it a priority to update the 2011 impact assessment on universal credit on the 10 million households that will be affected.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Neil Coyle11/10/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourProposed
11/10/2017Sheffield, HallamLabourSeconded
Laura Pidcock11/10/2017Seconded
Stephen McCabe11/10/2017Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Stephen Timms11/10/2017East HamLabourSeconded
Joan Ryan11/10/2017Signed
11/10/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
11/10/2017Croydon CentralLabourSigned
11/10/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
11/10/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
11/10/2017Reading EastLabourSigned
Joanne Platt11/10/2017Signed
Rosie Cooper11/10/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Ruth George12/10/2017Proposed
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
12/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Shannon12/10/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner16/10/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd16/10/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards16/10/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Cunningham16/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
16/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jo Stevens16/10/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer17/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
17/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Lady Hermon18/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Louise Ellman18/10/2017Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty18/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/10/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas18/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
George Howarth19/10/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn23/10/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan23/10/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law24/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff24/10/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby01/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman06/11/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.