Parliament Website

Plumbers' Pensions

EDM number 414 in 2017-19, proposed by Hywel Williams on 17/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Pensions and Service industries.

That this House holds grave concerns for the hundreds of plumbers in pension schemes who face employer debt under section 75 of the Pensions Act 1995 as subsequently amended; notes that because many of the plumbing businesses are unincorporated their personal wealth and lifetime savings are at risk; reminds the Government that they have committed to working with the industry in exploring alternative methods to help employers in such pension schemes to manage their employer debt; cautiously welcomes the Green Paper on Defined Benefit Pension Schemes published in February 2017, but has concerns over the progress made to date; and calls on the Government to reach a solution as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Hywel Williams17/10/2017ArfonPlaid CymruProposed
Jonathan Edwards17/10/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts17/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake17/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Peter Bottomley17/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day18/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally18/10/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham18/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/10/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/10/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan23/10/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael24/10/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
George Howarth24/10/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer24/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Chris Law24/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss24/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Linden24/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands24/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart13/11/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford13/11/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman29/01/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty29/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman05/02/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Mann05/02/2018BassetlawLabourSigned
Stewart Hosie20/02/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.