Parliament Website

Child Marriage

EDM number 417 in 2017-19, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 17/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Children and families and Marriage.

That this House recognises the great step forward which India has taken in ending child marriage; acknowledges that according to UNICEF in India 47 per cent of women are married before they are 18 years old and 18 per cent by the age of 15, while the age of consent is still 18; notes that child marriage has been used as a loophole to escape rape charges; further recognises that a child should not marry or be forced to marry; and urges the UK Government, and the Department for International Development in particular, to do whatever they can to support India in enforcing the Prohibition of Child Marriage Act.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Virendra Sharma17/10/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley17/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day18/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins18/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon18/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Simpson18/10/2017Upper BannDUPSeconded
Gavin Robinson18/10/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Stephen Doughty18/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Bob Blackman19/10/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle19/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Liz Saville Roberts20/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hugh Gaffney20/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Chris Law24/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine25/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lisa Cameron26/10/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss26/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Evans31/10/2017Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
David Amess01/11/2017Southend WestConservativeSigned
David Davies02/11/2017MonmouthConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff02/11/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Layla Moran02/11/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Douglas Chapman06/11/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Toby Perkins06/11/2017ChesterfieldLabourSigned
John Grogan06/11/2017Signed
Sandy Martin06/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson13/11/2017East AntrimDUPSigned
Bambos Charalambous13/11/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell15/11/2017East LondonderryDUPSigned
Clive Lewis15/11/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Ruth George16/11/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Rupa Huq16/11/2017Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid20/11/2017Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Preet Kaur Gill20/11/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Mohammad Yasin09/01/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter10/01/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Thelma Walker10/01/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield15/01/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper22/01/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury29/01/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly02/02/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick05/03/2018PrestonLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.