Parliament Website

Centenary Of The Boys' Brigade Juniors Age Group

EDM number 446 in 2017-19, proposed by Patrick Grady on 24/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families and Voluntary organisations.

That this House congratulates the Boys' Brigade on reaching the centenary of its work with the juniors age group which was established in September 1917 as the Boy Reserves for boys aged nine to 12; notes that members of the juniors have been marking the milestone throughout 2017 with nearly 15,000 eight to 11-year olds taking part in fun and active programmes in groups across the UK while helping their communities; further notes this has included taking part in the Juniors 100 Challenge where young people were encouraged to complete 100 challenges, including activities such as learning basic first aid skills or raising £100 for a local charity; praises the work of the Boys' Brigade in facilitating low cost activities that work to tackle childhood obesity and bridge the educational attainment gap through encouraging participation in activities critical for young people's health; appreciates that the Boys' Brigade has a long history, dating back to the first company in Glasgow in 1883; encourages other children to take advantage of the opportunities provided through the Boys' Brigade's programmes; and commends the Boys' Brigade for offering young people significant opportunities to expand their talents and interests while learning and having fun.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Patrick Grady24/10/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
David Linden24/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald24/10/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss24/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan24/10/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley24/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day25/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally25/10/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon25/10/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Bob Blackman26/10/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
David Simpson26/10/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Doughty26/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon26/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle26/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Marion Fellows30/10/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon31/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Michael Penning01/11/2017Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson01/11/2017Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Chris Law01/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson01/11/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.