Parliament Website

Alcohol Strategy And Minimum Unit Pricing

EDM number 448 in 2017-19, proposed by Mary Glindon on 24/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Alcoholism, Consumers, Health education and preventive medicine, Health services and Regulation.

That this House recognises minimum unit pricing as a highly effective tool to reduce the number of deaths related to alcohol, crime and workplace absence; notes that Wales has now followed Scotland in approving this approach; further notes that alcohol misuse is costing between £21 billion and £52 billion in England and Wales per annum; is concerned that there are over 1 million hospital alcohol-related admissions each year; believes that it is unjustifiable that three litres of white cider with an alcohol content equivalent to 22 shots of vodka can be bought for just £3.49; and calls on the Government to follow-up its drugs strategy by publishing a comprehensive alcohol strategy that includes this minimum unit pricing policy which will save lives and relieve pressure on the NHS.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Mary Glindon24/10/2017North TynesideLabourProposed
Fiona Bruce24/10/2017CongletonConservativeSeconded
Tommy Sheppard24/10/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas24/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts24/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Cowan24/10/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Paul Williams24/10/2017Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/10/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Martyn Day25/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally25/10/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell25/10/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Shannon25/10/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Ian Mearns25/10/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Grahame Morris25/10/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens25/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson26/10/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Alison Thewliss26/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle30/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Lady Hermon31/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer31/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
David Linden31/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law01/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Tonia Antoniazzi02/11/2017GowerLabourSigned
Sandy Martin06/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Frank Field13/11/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
Tom Brake13/11/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper22/11/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
John Grogan01/12/2017Signed
Douglas Chapman04/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson25/01/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.