Parliament Website

Missing Students From Ayotzinapa, Mexico

EDM number 453 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Matheson on 25/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, North America and Students.

That this House expresses its disappointment that the 43 students from Ayotzinapa in Guerrero, Mexico, who disappeared on 26 September 2014, have still not been found and that no new lines of investigation have been followed despite findings from international independent experts that the assumptions of the Mexican Government's initial investigation are flawed; calls on the Mexican Government and authorities to renew their efforts in this case; notes that at least 30,000 people have been officially registered as disappeared in Mexico since 2006 and that the disappeared often include the very vulnerable, such as poor migrants, children, women, activists and journalists; highlights the concerns of Amnesty International and other bodies regarding the human rights situation in Mexico; offers its support to all those in Mexico who stand up for human rights and justice against corruption and violence; and further calls on the Government to support further work with Mexican human rights organisations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Chris Matheson25/10/2017City of ChesterLabourProposed
Jim Shannon26/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Stephen Doughty26/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens26/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Mary Glindon26/10/2017North TynesideLabourSeconded
Martyn Day26/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham26/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss26/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff26/10/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn30/10/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eleanor Smith30/10/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
David Linden31/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson31/10/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Lady Hermon31/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer31/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
David Crausby01/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Chris Law01/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney02/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Dan Carden03/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Sandy Martin06/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard20/11/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Bambos Charalambous21/11/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Ian Murray22/11/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Matt Rodda22/11/2017Reading EastLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse05/12/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen McCabe07/12/2017Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid11/12/2017Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green07/02/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.