Parliament Website

Scottish Memorial To War Poets

EDM number 465 in 2017-19, proposed by Christine Jardine on 30/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Arts, Cultural heritage and Veterans.

That this House notes that during and after the First World War, Edinburgh was host to a number of the War Poets, including Wilfred Owen and Sigfreid Sassoon; recognises the beautiful and harrowing work of Scottish Great War Poets, including Ewart Alan Mackintosh, Joseph Lee, Charles Hamilton Sorely and John Buchan; commends the work of the Wilfred Owen's Edinburgh committee in promoting war time poetry; and calls on all stakeholders and civic society to come together to pursue a fitting monument to all of Scotland's War Poets for the centenary of the end of the First World War in 2018.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Christine Jardine30/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Jim Shannon31/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day31/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/11/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alison Thewliss01/11/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law01/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley01/11/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens01/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady02/11/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney02/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham02/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.