Parliament Website

International Day Of The Imprisoned Writer

EDM number 545 in 2017-19, proposed by Stewart McDonald on 15/11/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Press.

That this House notes that 15 November 2017 marks the Day of the Imprisoned Writer; welcomes the day as an opportunity to recognise the vital role of press freedom to ensure transparency, accountability and the rule of law and to empower people and communities; is concerned by the results of recent World Press Freedom Index 2017, which noted a decline in press freedom in 62.2 per cent of the 180 countries in the Index; further notes with concern that 259 journalists and writers were imprisoned worldwide by the end of 2016; recognises the work of organisations such as Scottish PEN, English PEN, Reporters Without Borders and the Cartoonist Rights Network International in promoting press freedom, freedom of expression and freedom of information throughout the world, and where those rights are being violated; and urges the Government to ensure press freedom, freedom of expression and freedom of information are protected throughout the world.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Stewart McDonald15/11/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartyProposed
Chris Law15/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Docherty15/11/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray15/11/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Angela Crawley15/11/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan15/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon16/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon16/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Brendan O'Hara16/11/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens16/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley20/11/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Hugh Gaffney20/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer21/11/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Martyn Day21/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss21/11/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham21/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/11/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Linden27/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.